Apr 16, 2018

Joint Press Release from the Knighthawks and NLL

Team.jpg(April 16, 2018)… The Rochester Knighthawks can lock up a playoff berth on Saturday with a victory over the New England Black Wolves. Rochester can also clinch a home playoff game with a win and a Buffalo loss. Saturday’s regular season home finale is set for 7:30 p.m. at Connors & Ferris Field at The Blue Cross Arena.

The NLL released its playoff-clinching scenarios ahead of NLL Week 20, which features three games Saturday night, April 21. Buffalo can clinch a playoff berth with a win and a New England loss, while Toronto is eliminated from playoff consideration with a loss.

The Knighthawks (9-7) are currently tied for first place in the East Division with the Georgia Swarm. Rochester knocked off the Toronto Rock Friday night to win its third straight game and seven of its last eight.
The 2018 NLL regular season concludes in Week 21 with every team in action before the 2018 NLL Playoffs start the weekend of May 4-6.

A total of six NLL teams, the top three clubs in each division’s standings, will qualify for the playoffs. The two regular season division champions will earn a first-round bye as the top seeds. The second seeds will host the third seeds in their respective division for the single-elimination Division Semifinal game in the first round. The second round of the playoffs has changed for this season and will now be played as a single-elimination contest. The top seed from each division will host the winner of the Division Semifinal between the second and third seeds for the Division Championships.

For the third straight year, the Finals will be played as a full best-of-three series with the higher-seeded team hosting Game 1 and Game 3 (if necessary).

About the National Lacrosse League
The National Lacrosse League (NLL) is North America's premier professional indoor lacrosse league. Founded in 1986, the NLL ranks third in average attendance for pro indoor sports worldwide, behind only the NHL and NBA. The League is comprised of 11 franchises across the United States and Canada: Buffalo Bandits, Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Georgia Swarm, New England Black Wolves, Philadelphia Wings, Rochester Knighthawks, San Diego Seals, Saskatchewan Rush, Toronto Rock and Vancouver Stealth. The 2017-18 NLL season, commemorating the League's 32nd year, began December 8 during #FaceOffWknd. For more information, visit and find the NLL on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter

Back to All