Oct 20, 2017

usarochester HOF.jpg(October 20, 2017)… The Greater Rochester Chapter of U.S. Lacrosse will welcome five new members and one team into its Hall of Fame with the induction of Hilary Bowen, Patrick Dutton, Carlton Ferris (posthumously), Tim Pease and Don Wright, and the 2005 Brighton Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team.

The 24th Annual Greater Rochester Chapter of U.S. Lacrosse Hall of Fame Dinner will take place on Friday, Nov. 3 at the Burgundy Basin Inn at 1361 Marsh Road in Pittsford.

The early bird cost is $35 if you reserve your tickets before Oct. 27. Kids 5 and under are free. The social hour begins at 6:00 p.m. with dinner scheduled for 7:00 p.m. and introductions beginning promptly at 8:00 p.m. To make reservations, please click here for online registration.

For further information or questions, please contact Chapter President Alan McLiverty at [email protected].


Hilary Bowen 
bowen3.jpgBowen is one of the most decorated women’s players to ever come out of Rochester. As a four-year starter at Brighton High School, she helped lead her team to a Class “B” title and two trips to the Class “A” Finals. Her personal accolades include two Monroe County League Player of the Year awards, three First Team and one Second Team All-County Most Valuable Player selections, and All-Tournament recognition at the 2004 and 2005 New York state championships. She was also named the 2005 Tournament MVP. Bowen was a true student-athlete, as she was honored three times as a U.S. Lacrosse High School All-American and as an Academic All-American.

Her career continued to blossom at the collegiate level, as she established herself as one of the top players in Northwestern University history. With the Wildcats, she finished third all-time in points (299) and goals (219), and fifth in assists (80). Bowen also helped Northwestern win four straight national titles (2006-09). For her efforts, she was named a three-time NCAA Championship Game MVP, and a three-time NCAA Championship All-Tournament Team selection. Bowen was also a three-time All-American and a three-time All-Conference selection.

Patrick Dutton 
dutton 2007.jpgThe Webster, NY native had the distinction of playing for both of Rochester’s professional lacrosse teams during his career. Dutton played for the National Lacrosse League’s Rochester Knighthawks for four seasons (2004-07) and won the 2007 Champion’s Cup. During the summer months, he took his game outdoors and played midfield for the Rochester Rattlers of Major League Lacrosse. Dutton spent six of his seven seasons in the MLL with his hometown team, and was a key member of the Rattlers’ 2008 championship team.

Prior to making the jump to the professional ranks, Dutton was a standout lacrosse player at Cornell University from 1996-99. A two-year captain at midfield, he was a First Team All-Ivy selection in 1998 and 1999. In 1998, he became the first Cornell midfielder since 1990 to earn All-American honors. He was named team MVP as a sophomore in 1997 and also received the Joe Philip Memorial Award, given annually to the player contributing most to the overall team effort. Dutton ended his college lacrosse career by playing in the North-South All-Star Game. In 1997, he also played wide receiver for the Big Red and caught 22 passes for 218 yards. In 2002, Dutton founded the Next Level lacrosse camp for boys and girls, ages 8-18. He then served as an assistant coach for the Big Red men’s lacrosse team for the 2003 and 2004 seasons. In 2011, he was inducted into the Cornell Hall of Fame.

Carlton Ferris 
Ferris.jpgFerris was an outstanding attackman at Hobart College from 1934-37, and was a two-time team Most Valuable Player (1936 and 1937). Three times he was named an All-American, receiving First Team honors in 1936 and 1937, and Honorable Mention status in 1935. Ferris played with the American team against Canada in 1936 and England in 1937, as well as competing in the North-South All-Star Game in 1936. His nine goals in one game against Syracuse University stood as a collegiate varsity scoring mark from 1937 to 1954. He also earned varsity letters in football and basketball, making him a nine letterman at Hobart.

After completing his playing career with the Statesmen, he helped start lacrosse at Geneva High School and officiated for eight years. He was enshrined in the U.S. Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 1971 and was selected as a charter member of the Hobart Hall of Fame. Ferris also served as the executive director of the Hobart Alumni Association for a number of years following his graduation. A civic leader and business executive throughout his life, Carl Ferris passed away in 1988.

Tim Pease 
Tim Pease Bio Page pic.jpgPease has been a major contributor to Irondequoit youth and high school lacrosse for over two decades. It was 20 years ago that he founded the Irondequoit Invitational, where he served as the tournament director until 2017. In his hometown of Irondequoit, he has coached boys and girls high school lacrosse for over 15 years. Pease also served on the board of directors for Irondequoit Youth Lacrosse and was an Irondequoit lacrosse booster club member for over a decade, as well. He was even a founding member of the Greater Rochester Chapter of U.S. Lacrosse.

Pease’s playing career began in 1981 as a box lacrosse goalie, which eventually led him to play goal in the field game. Over the past 36 years, Tim and five of his friends have continued to play in tournaments throughout the country. His stops have included Lake Placid, Ellicottville, NY; Annapolis, Md. and Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Don Wright 
Don (2).jpgLike Pease, Wright has been a fixture in the Irondequoit lacrosse community for decades. From 1964-67, he played for Irondequoit High School and was a two-time All-Upstate Team selection. After graduation, he moved on to play collegiate lacrosse at Ohio Wesleyan. Wright was a member of the Battling Bishops from 1968-71, serving as team captain and earning All-Midwest honors his senior season.

After wrapping up his playing career at Ohio Wesleyan, Wright stayed on campus to work as an assistant coach. In 1973, Wright returned home to Irondequoit to coach his alma mater. He would return to his coaching position at Irondequoit High School in 1975, where he would remain until 2006. During his tenure, Irondequoit posted a 504-122 record and produced 26 All-Americans and won 12 sectional titles.

2005 Brighton Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team 
lax candids copy.jpegThe 2005 squad stands as the most successful team in the history of Brighton girls lacrosse. That season, led by captains Hilary Bowen and Vicki Walsh, Brighton captured the school’s only Class “B” state championship. The Rich Curtis-coached team also won the Section V championship, which at the time, was its eighth straight sectional title.

The roster included Bowen, Vicki Walsh, Hannah Walsh, Karen Adams, Danielle Spencer, Alex Ryan, Melissa Hill, Katie Parker, Tyler McLain, Carrie O’Rourke, Sarah Ballatori, Rachel Ballatori, Nicole Cortese, Ilese Nahum, Lauren Cowan, Ellie Hilling, Rebecca Levine, Rachel DerCola, Eliana Papier, Megan Coffee, Danyelle Garcia, Beth Kokonovich, Melanie Schron, and Jill Gruber. The assistant coaches were Stephen Lawrence and Tim Mashewske.

About The Greater Rochester Chapter of U.S. Lacrosse 
The Greater Rochester Chapter is a Rochester based non-profit organization, and a regional chapter of U.S. Lacrosse Inc. committed to supporting the promotion and growth of men’s and women’s lacrosse in the Greater Rochester region. To learn more about the Greater Rochester Chapter of U.S. Lacrosse, check out the organization’s website at

Back to All