Aug 30, 2017

SD_900x900_082817.jpgPHILADELPHIA, August 30, 2017 – The National Lacrosse League (NLL), the largest men’s professional indoor lacrosse league in North America, today announced that it has awarded an expansion team to the city of San Diego and owner Joseph Tsai. The team, which will begin play in December 2018, will be the League’s tenth franchise and play its home games at the historic Valley View Casino Center.

"We are thrilled to welcome Joe Tsai and San Diego as the 10th franchise of the National Lacrosse League,” said NLL Commissioner Nick Sakiewicz. “Joe's passion for lacrosse and his vision for our newest team is very exciting and along with the explosive growth in the south west it's the perfect time for the NLL to come to the great city of San Diego.

"We are very excited that two of our most successful and experienced executives in Steve Govett and Josh Gross will be leading the operations of the Team. The expansion of the NLL into San Diego marks yet another positive move forward in the execution of our 5-year strategic plan. Seeing that vision come into focus is a tribute to our incredible staff, ownership, and world class players.”

The team is owned by Joseph C. Tsai and will operate under Tsai Sports & Entertainment. The 53-year-old businessman is a former member of the Yale University lacrosse team.

“I have a strong passion for lacrosse, and look forward to bringing the NLL to San Diego,” said Tsai. “Our team is committed to creating a fan-first experience and to being an integral part of the local community.”

Throughout the transaction process partners including the NLL's financial advisor, Inner Circle Sports, and legal counsel, Friedman & Wittenstein, had assisted by providing advisory services.

A special event will take place this fall to announce the team name, logo, and brand in San Diego, California. For more information, visit for more information on the incoming San Diego franchise. You can also find us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

About the National Lacrosse League
The National Lacrosse League (NLL) is North America's premier professional indoor lacrosse league. Founded in 1986, the NLL ranks third in average attendance for pro indoor sports worldwide, behind only the NHL and NBA. The League is comprised of 10 franchises across the United States and Canada: Buffalo Bandits, Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Georgia Swarm, New England Black Wolves, Rochester Knighthawks, San Diego NLL, Saskatchewan Rush, Toronto Rock and Vancouver Stealth. The 2017-18 NLL season, commemorating the League's 32nd year, begins in December. For more information, visit and find the NLL on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Back to All