2014 Cup featured.jpg


Oct 22, 2014

(October 22, 2014)… The Rochester Knighthawks will receive one final honor commemorating their historic run to a league-record third straight championship. On Thursday, the Dreamcatcher Charitable Foundation will recognize the Knighthawks with the Sports and Recreation award for having a positive impact in the community.

The defending National Lacrosse League champions will be among the honored guests at the 10th Annual Gala, which will bring together over a thousand people from all sectors of business, sports, music, education and culture to the Hamilton (Ontario) Convention Centre. Accepting the award on behalf of the Knighthawks will be Team Captain Sid Smith and Assistant Captain and 2014 NLL MVP Cody Jamieson.

“It's an honor to represent the Knighthawks,” said Jamieson, who also won his first scoring title in 2014. “This community really supports us.”

The Knighthawks will also be represented at the Gala by 2014 Championship Game MVP Dan Dawson and Assistant Captain Mike Kirk. The members of the Knighthawks’ coaching and executive staffs in attendance will consist of Owner and General Manager Curt Styres, President Lewis Staats, VP of Lacrosse Paul Gait, Assistant GM Landon Miller, VP of Player Personnel Jody Gage, VP of Operations Tracy Johnson, Special Projects Coordinator Wendy Staats, Head Coach Mike Hasen, Assistant Coaches Andy Secore and Jason Johnson, and Broadcaster Craig Rybczynski. 

The Dreamcatcher Foundation awards are bestowed upon five dedicated and most-deserving individuals. The Knighthawks were selected after defeating the Calgary Roughnecks in the NLL Championship Series to earn their third straight Champion’s Cup. Other winners include Tomson Highway (Arts and Culture), Duncan Cree (Education) and Dr. Darlene Kitty (Health). First Nations actor Graham Greene will also receive the Lifetime Achievement award. 

“It’s always fun. It’s cool when you see the stories of the people that win these awards and the things that they have done,” said Johnson. “With the team, it’s nice to be a part of that (success) and everyone involved, especially the players and the staff. It’s nice to be recognized for the all the hard work everyone puts in.”

Once again this year’s Awards Show and Dinner, hosted by Adam Beach, will feature a star-studded lineup of artists and entertainers. Highlighting the collection of performers are singer Sam Moore from Sam & Dave, Grammy Award winner Tia Carrere, and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee Brian Wilson, co-founder of The Beach Boys. Celebrities and notable guests will include Emmanuel Lewis, Gil Birmingham, Taboo from The Black Eyed Peas, Michelle Thrush, George Starke, Jeremiah Bitsui, John Harrington and many more. 

"The Gala is our biggest fundraiser each year; we are so grateful to receive continued support from our sponsors" said Dreamcatcher's Executive Director Sara Awdish. "We have a special night planned for our anniversary; it will truly be an event to remember." 

The Dreamcatcher Foundation provides support to the Aboriginal community through grants to individuals with a goal and mission of developing youth as future leaders. Originally based in Ontario, the Foundation has since expanded its reach to now be truly national in scope as it continues to grow to provide help to those that need it. The Foundation also provides grants to community projects that have a lasting and positive impact on their people. For more information on the Foundation please visit www.dcfund.ca.

Back to All